User Rating: 4 / 5

Star ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar ActiveStar Inactive
 

 

WHAT IS CURFEW?

Curfew is how late a person under 18 years old can legally stay outside in a public place. Curfews are often different if you are under or over the age of 16. Each Arizona city sets its own curfew.  Curfews will be different from city to city.  
If you violate curfew you may be ticketed, have to pay a fine, or do community service.  The police may hold you at the police station while a parent or guardian is called and the parent or guardian comes to pick you up.
Your parent or guardian may  also be cited for your violation of curfew laws.

LAWS

Each Arizona city enforces its own curfew laws. A city’s law is sometimes called a 'Municipal Code' or 'City Code.’ Your best source for the curfew law in your city is your local police department or city attorney’s office. You may also search a municipal code web site for more information. Generally, you can be out past curfew only if you:

  • Are with your parent or guardian;
  • Are with an adult and have prior permission from your parent or guardian;
  • You are traveling to another state in a motor vehicle and have permission from your parent or guardian;
  • You are going or returning from work by the most direct route without any detours or stops;
  • You are involved in an emergency or have prior permission from your parent or guardian and are engaged in a reasonable, legitimate, and specific business and/or activity;
  • You have prior permission from your parent or guardian, and engaged in a reasonable exercise of your First Amendment Rights protected by the United States Constitution;
  • You are married and 16 years of age or over, or in the military, are on the sidewalk in front of your house or on the next-door neighbor's property with their consent.

POSSIBLE CONSEQUENCES IF CURFEW IS VIOLATED:

  • Some police departments issue tickets for violating curfew
  • Some may give you a warning or take you to the police station and call your parents
  • You may have to pay a fine or do community service and have a juvenile record
  • Your parents or guardian may have to pay a fine, do community service
  • Both you and your parents may be found guilty of a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor is a criminal violation that can result in a small fine or some jail time. 

A SAMPLE OF SOME CURFEW LAWS FOR SELECTED CITIES:

  • Avondale: Minors under the age of 16 must be where the person lives between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day. Minors 16 – 18 must be where the person lives between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.
  • Casa Grande: Minors under the age of 16 must be where the person lives between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day. Minors 16 – 18 must be where the person lives between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.
  • Chandler: Minors under the age of 16 must be where the person lives between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.  Minors 16 – 18 must be where the person lives between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.
  • Cottonwood: Minors under the age of 16 must be where the person lives between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day. Minors 16 – 18 years must be where the person lives between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.
  • Gilbert: Minors under the age of 16 must be where the person lives between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day. Minors 16 – 18 must be where the person lives between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.
  • Glendale: Minors under the age of 16 must be where the person lives between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day. Minors 16 – 18 must be where the person lives between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.
  • Goodyear: Minors under the age of 16  must be where the person lives between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.  Minors 16 – 18 years must be where the person lives between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.
  • Mesa: Minors under the age of 16 must be where the person lives between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day. Minors 16 – 18 must be where the person lives between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.
  • Peoria: Minors under the age of 16 must be where the person lives between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day. Minors 16 – 18 must be where the person lives between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.
  • Phoenix (including the Ahwatukee area): Minors under the age of 16 must be where the person lives between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day. Minors 16 – 18 must be where the person lives between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.
  • Queen Creek: Minors under the age of 16 must be where the person lives between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day. Minors 16 -18  must be where the person lives between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.
  • Scottsdale: Minors under the age of 16 must be where the person lives between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day. Minors 16 – 18 must be where the person lives between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.
  • Sedona: Minors under the age of 16 must be where the person lives between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day. Minors 16 – 18 must be where the person lives between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.
  • Surprise: Minors under the age of 18 must not be in a public place between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day Sunday through Thursday.  On Friday and Saturday, minors under age 18 must not be in a public place between midnight and 5:00 a.m. the next day.
  • Tempe: Minors under the age of 16 must be where the person lives between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day. Minors 16 – 18 must be where the person lives between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.
  • Tucson: Minors under the age of 16 must not be in public places between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day. Minors 16 – 18 must not be in public places be between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.
  • South Tucson: Minors under the age of 18 must not be in public places between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. of the following day.


Your best source for the curfew law in your city is your local police department or city attorney’s office. You may also search an external Municipal Code web site for an Arizona city’s curfew law.

 

Laws may have changed since the last time this article was updated.  The current and most up-to-date laws can be accessed here. 


Laws Section

Did You Learn Something? - 12 votes
75

%

CURFEW

Book rating: out of 100 with 0 ratings

TRANSLATE NOW!